Pigeon Sausages???

30/05/2009 at 4:00 pm (Uncategorized)

My husband of nine years came home from work the other day, carrying a plastic bag. Nothing unusual I hear you say, but this plastic bag had six pigeon sausages inside. Yes, you heard me correctly……pigeon (as in annoying bird that coos) sausages. Well I nearly barfed all over floor..right there and then! I mean Pigeon for God sake..that’s not normal! He seemed very pleased with the fact he had these “non-normal” sausages, I on the other hand was not!

You may think I’m being unreasonable…why should I be so disgusted by these sausages? But being a vegetarian (I admit I sometimes eat chicken breast and bacon) it actually made my stomach churn!!

“Poor little pigeon’s ” I remember saying to Phil….he turned around and laughed at me!  “You’re not giving them to our daughter” I also remember saying. I must add at this point that my six year daughter is a pure cannibal…she adores meat, and if you give her a meal without any, she demands to know the reason why! I also have a ten year old son, who sadly takes after me, and is very picky about his food, so I had no worries about him consuming the “sausages” because, he would point blankly refuse!

Well, the comment on my daughter didn’t go down to well with hubby, and so a row began 🙂

He basically said that she should be allowed to make the decision herself whether or not she tries the “sausages”…..I disagreed….at the time! In hindsight, he was right……which to be honest, is extremely hard for me to admit…..being a woman, and always right!!

I haven’t admitted to him that I was in the wrong…..because, lets face it, if I did that I would never hear the last of it!

The pigeon sausages are yet to be consumed, and are in the freezer……and to be honest I hope that’s were they stay 🙂

4 Comments

  1. upwardsofweirdness said,

    Sweetness – you are wicked funny and I’m proud to call you my twisted sister! … incidentally, I wouldn’t go near those things with a 10 ft pole, much less feed them to my children.. if I had any… not even the dog.. which I do have :o)
    Brilliant!
    S.

    • acemas21 said,

      Thankyou for your lovely comments!! I am so pleased you gave me the nudge to do this blog, and I just hope you continue to be proud of me! 🙂

  2. Nigel (from Twitter) said,

    Pigeon Sausages ??? Im with you on that one! why would anyone want to eat pigeon????

    Think you were right actually a six year old girl needs guidance in what she should and shouldnt eat, and that comes from Mum !

    Sorry husband !!!

    • acemas21 said,

      Haha!! Yes I can’t understand my Husbands thoughts on pigeon sauages…but each to their own I suppose!!

      Thanks for reading my Blog Nigel…means a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

