To teach or not to teach….

03/06/2009 at 1:54 pm (Uncategorized)

I said in my first Blog entry that I would elaborate more on my decision to become a teacher, so here it is. For any of you that aren’t interested in this story…skip this one!!

My life hasn’t exactly turned out as I planned it, not that I’m complaining, lots of great and positive things have happened to me (Hubby, kids) but, in my working life things are just not right.

I left school at 16 with nine  G.C.S.E’s, not all grade A-C, I might add but nine nevertheless!! I had a place at college to do three A-levels, Drama, Media Studies and English, all was in place till my parents told me they were having to move to Edinburgh to give my Grandparents support.

At the time I didn’t see this as a dilemma at all, I was actually really excited at the prospect of living up there, and didn’t think twice when I told the college I wouldn’t be accepting the place they had offered.

To cut a very long and boring story short…well as short as I can make it, Instead of studying in Edinburgh, I got a job…I liked earning and having my own money, I also enjoyed spending it!!!

I then met Phil…..got engaged….got pregnant (not planned)…..got married (much to the surprise of Phil!)……had another baby (planned) and six years later, here we are!

Amazing how time flies when your having fun 🙂

So I now feel it is the right time in my life to knuckle down, do some learning, and get myself a career, and teaching was my plan at sixteen, and has become so once again.

So, as I didn’t get the required grade in maths to start a teaching course, I have to do it again, hence my annoyance of not paying attention in maths lessons! (In my defence I used to sit next to a really cute boy, and he was far more interesting than long division!)

I’m excited about starting this journey of teacher-hood, but also a little scared…..One thing I do know is that, I am looking forward to blogging about  my experiences, and sharing all the ups and downs with all of you 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Nigel (from Twitter) said,

    Hey guess what, i was that cute boy you sat next to in maths! I thought we had met before, you left a good impression !!! lol X

    • acemas21 said,

      Haha!! You’re nuts!! X

  2. Nigel (from Twitter) said,

    Hey guess what, i was that cute boy you sat next to in maths! I thought we had met before, you left a good impression !!! lol X

  3. upwardsofweirdness said,

    I too waited until adulthood to complete my undergraduate (university) degree. Just finished mine last year. I won’t lie, it sucked ass big time! Mind you, I don’t do well in class rooms or lecture halls. I fall asleep if disintersted and get very cranky when it moves too slowly! So, you’ll likely enjoy it far more than I did! Blog all about it – it wil be a great way to explore your many frustrations with Math and classes as you have far more to contend with whilst trying to study that I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

